3 awesome things I learned in my first deep meditation

What happens when your asleep and awake at the same time?

Aeron Davies
4 min readOct 23, 2020

So I know I talk about music a lot on here, but I couldn’t help but just talk about something quite amazing that happened to me a few nights ago.

As per usual, I waited for my parents to stop watching the news so that I could meditate before bed. After about 10 minutes, something felt…. Weird, really weird. I felt as if I was entering the deepest areas of my body and mind like never before.

I have been meditating for a few months now, and I have never experienced something quite like this. It’s almost like an intense acid trip, but more natural and peaceful.

It was a place where the only things that existed were my heartbeat, and my breath. Which then led me to the intense visions.

You know you have those dreamlike images that pop into your head before you sleep. They’re just so random and weird. Well, I started having them. I tried not to take any notice of them and carried on.

Before I knew it, I was asleep and awake at the same time. Here’s what I learned:

(As a side note, I did some research and this all happens as a result of your body and mind falling asleep, but your awareness is still awake. Research suggests that the psychedelic chemical, DMT, is released during sleep and contributes to dreams, which leads me to believe that this style of deep meditation is kind of like a natural psychedelic trip.)

1. Humans sit silently to explore the universe

Think about this, right?

We are bodies of life who, in order to access a realm of consciousness restricted from the mind’s capabilities, sit silently with our eyes closed, back straight, crossed legs and a complete focus on the inhalation and exhalation of the breath.

How out of this world is that? But it’s still reality.

I guess that’s what mindfulness is, in a nutshell. Looking at everything for what it is. Approaching everything with an open mind and noticing things that the average human takes for granted.

I thought of this while noticing flashing images of something very similar to this image:

Related article:

Can you produce beats that increase your consciousness level?

2. We are two arms, two legs…

After months of daily yoga and body meditation, I’ve been awakened to the fact that our bodies are as they are simply because of our surroundings. We’ve evolved from a tiny bacteria, to form the perfect collection of muscles, bones, organs and overall capabilities.

We are a body, but we are also two arms, two legs, a head, a back and a torso. Just as a forest is considered one body of life, several sub-lives make up the forest. And we can go further until we reach the smallest organisms on the planet.

That is our body, a collection of microorganisms to form living organs and bodily parts that are adapted to our surroundings.

How amazing!

Related article: 5 easy ways to get a music mindset in lockdown

3. Psychedelic art has another layer to it

Lastly, I now have much more appreciation for psychedelic art such as this:

Mostly because it’s so accurate. It seemed fictional and fake before my experience. But now I understand it. They’re more than just art from a paintbrush, they are images that are all produced by the deep realms of the unconscious.

Related article: How to make amazing cover art that brings music to life

Summary

To anyone who’s never had any kind of experience like this, I’m probably sounding like some sort of crazy man, but no, what I’ve seen and experienced has changed the way that I look at the world for good.

And from what I understand, this is just the tip of the iceberg.

Please comment if you have experienced a deep meditation trip, would love to hear!

--

--